Thursday, February 5, 2015

Book Review: The Cupcake Club by Sheryl & Carrie Berk

Title: The Cupcake Club Series
(#1 Peace, Love, and Cupcakes;
#2 Recipe for Trouble;
#3 Winner Bakes All;
#4 Icing on the Cake;
#5 Baby Cakes;
#6 Royal Icing)
Authors: Sheryl Berk & Carrie Berk
Published by: Sourcebooks, Incorporated (2012-2014

My Rating: ✭✭✭✭✩

The Cupcake Club Series by Sheryl Berk and Carrie Berk is a collection of short, sweet, and cute stories you won’t regret reading. I could easily hear Carrie’s voice, as well as her input in the writing, and yet it was written well enough that it could have been an adult alone’s work. Carrie and her mother have great talent and I’m glad I discovered their works.

Plot: The plots are structured, the characters are lovable, and the storylines fun and exciting. If I could use one word to describe this series, it would be “Fun!” The problems that arise for these girls are problems but in the same sense just funny situations, as they are resolved easily and simply. Full of imagination and spunk, they were creative and funny, that even in non-baking crises, baked goods and treats were worked into it. I’m thirteen and I love them, so I can only imagine how much the six- to ten- age range must be all over them. Sheryl Berk and Carrie Berk did a great job in creating this adorable, fun, sweet series and I’ll be looking forward to the next addition.

No comments:

Post a Comment